Then She Was Gone

Then She Was Gone

A Novel

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
15
"Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily familiar, in this evocative, suspenseful drama from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell--perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty. Ellie Mack was the perfect daughter. She was fifteen, the youngest of three. She was beloved by her parents, friends, and teachers. She and her boyfriend made a teenaged golden couple. She was days away from an idyllic post-exams summer vacation, with her whole life ahead of her. And then she was gone. Now, her mother Laurel Mack is trying to put her life back together. It's been ten years since her daughter disappeared, seven years since her marriage ended, and only months since the last clue in Ellie's case was unearthed. So when she meets an unexpectedly charming man in a cafe, no one is more surprised than Laurel at how quickly their flirtation develops into something deeper. Before she knows it, she's meeting Floyd's daughters--and his youngest, Poppy, takes Laurel's breath away. Because looking at Poppy is like looking at Ellie. And now, the unanswered questions she's tried so hard to put to rest begin to haunt Laurel anew. Where did Ellie go? Did she really run away from home, as the police have long suspected, or was there a more sinister reason for her disappearance? Who is Floyd, really? And why does his daughter remind Laurel so viscerally of her own missing girl?"--
Publisher: New York : Atria Books, ©2018.
ISBN: 9781501154645
9781501192838
Characteristics: 359 pages ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff

Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily familiar, in this evocative, suspenseful drama from New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell--perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Liane Moriarty.


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
Alpha_zzz
Sep 13, 2018

I have read two of Lisa Jewell’s books, and I think I’m done now.

This book was improbable and bizarre (as Lisa herself suggested in the acknowledgments).

You have this psychotic woman who is able to make happen in one evening what specialists take several attempts to do. Then everyone in the book is intertwined, coincidentally, even though they live in a large city.

I like the way Lisa writes, but her storyline is shy of reality.

n
njhorner
Sep 11, 2018

I could not put this book down! It is really good and it was suspenseful from the first page.
I'm going to read other books by Jewell.

m
MissPooh74
Aug 07, 2018

This was my first novel from Lisa and she is most definitely a good author! The story was a tiny bit predictable. BUT for sure a lot of twist. I could not wait to keep reading!

I am going through her list now and adding some more of hers :)

e
ellakc1
Jul 07, 2018

I record and rate all the books I read on a scale of 1to 10. Ten being the best rating you can get. I gave this book a six. I had a hard time finishing it. I’ve read 67 books so far this year and this was the lowest rated book I read.

s
squirrelee
Jul 07, 2018

Oh my gosh, this book is amazing!! I love this author, and she has moved to my favorites list. As a side note, I really like it when authors thank their readers in the acknowledgments as she did at the end of this book.

JCLStephanieS Jul 06, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this thriller and could not put it down once I started reading. The characters and plot are interesting, and the story kept me in suspense until the very satisfying ending!

d
Daily
Jun 25, 2018

Good suspense...…..excellent read!

s
susannastarlight
Jun 18, 2018

I have become a big Lisa Jewell fan. This latest book was excellent. It was hard to put down and I read it in one afternoon. This is a fast, dramatic read. Perfect for summer reading.

m
mjk236sb
Jun 03, 2018

Wow what an interesting and kind of creepy story dealing with the disappearance of Ellie 10 years ago. There were parts of the story that I figured out but I certainly did not get some of it which kept you reading until the very end. Good story with out of the ordinary twists to keep you interested until that last page.

Another thrilling ride from start to finish! Lisa Jewell continues to spellbound with her suspenseful storytelling and thrilling plot twists. Another book that is impossible to put down until that last satisfying page.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top