Darius the Great Is Not Okay

Darius the Great Is Not Okay

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
Clinically-depressed Darius Kellner, a high school sophomore, travels to Iran to meet his grandparents, but it is their next-door neighbor, Sohrab, who changes his life.
Publisher: New York, New York : Dial Books, ©2018.
ISBN: 9780525552963
Characteristics: 314 pages ;,22 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
a
alolmated
Apr 09, 2019

This is a heartfelt book about friendship. Darius feels overweight, estranged from his father, and looked down on by his classmates. A trip to Iran to visit his dying grandfather, has a profound affect on him. A new friend helps him see his life in different light, though he has to go through some pain and humiliation to get there. This book gave me deep respect for the Iranian people and their ancient culture.

IndyPL_ShellieR Feb 13, 2019

You know how, in fairy stories, humans are warned never to eat fairy food when they visit the fairy realm? If they do, they won't ever be able to make themselves eat human food again and they will wither away and die. This book may have had that effect on me. I may be unable to read any other YA fiction ever again. P.S. Highly recommended for fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Universe.

JCLChrisK Feb 12, 2019

Sometimes a friendship can make all the difference. Darius doubts everything about himself, doesn't fit in, is constantly picked on, doesn't really connect with anyone. Anyone. Then he finds his first true friend, and that connection allows him to see himself in a new light--through they eyes of someone who really appreciates him--which creates ripples through everything.

Of course, it's not nearly as easy as that description; there is much sadness and struggle getting to that point. It involves a journey to Iran to get to know a grandfather he has never met who is on the verge of death. A journey into his heritage, somewhere entirely new he doesn't fit in. For Darius sits at the strange intersection of American, Iranian, Star Trek, and Tolkien cultures. This gives him an unusual perspective and a great narrative voice for telling this poignant, moving tale of growth and self-discovery.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top